Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Thai and I. The story of a globe-trotter in South East Asia

As I'm going to be travelling around for a while, I want to share my experience of Thailand, with some advice on what to do and where to go but also tell you more about what happened here and funny stories. Love you guys and don't forget to enjoy your life as much as you can!

DAY113: BONUS!

A lot of people ask me how I feel about going home. And I thought of an original answer to that question:



Things I'm gonna miss:

1. Behaviors and cultural habits:

- People smiling at you and waving everywhere

- The cutest kids I've ever met that never cry

- The 'No problem' rule

- The No-rules rule

2. Food and hygiene:

- The small shower near the toilet bowl and I'm not the only one who loves it!

- Conversations about toilets and flushes

- Mango shakes & all the exotic fruits you find everywhere

3. Travel little things:

- Writing my blog on a dayly basis

- Going with the flow, improvising, being spontanuous no matter what

- Cheap and available taxis

- Backpackers' solidarity

4. Asian wonders:

- Random encounters and unexpected shared moments

- Very strange things you witness on the street

- Crazy power cables entertwined in the streets

- Wearing shorts and tank tops every single day - even though I probably can do so back home for a couple of months

- Misspelled signs that make it super funny



Things I ain't gonna miss:

1. Behaviors and cultural habits:

- Bargaining even when you're buying a bottle of water

- People trying desperately to scam you

- Crazy drivers not afraid to knock you over

2. Food:

- 'No have' when you spent 15 min going through the 40-page long menu

- These awkaward moments when you have to mime a chicken to be understood to get some street food

- Noodles and rice, what do they have against French fries?!

- Regular stomach problems because of the food and the malaria pills

- Dubious meat that spends ours outside surrounded by flies

3. Hygiene:

- Rats and coackroaches running around everywhere

- People spitting in the streets, especially in Myanmar when it's a disgusting red thing

- People sweeping the floor, even outside (I might miss it actually, I think it's super funny)

- People throwing trash anywhere (street, river...)

- Shoilet or toiwer however you call it. These two things are not supposed to merge, never!

- The thinnest toilet paper in the world. You need 30 leaves at least to get the job done

4. Travel little things:

- My curly hair because of the humidity

- Sleeper buses, crazy traffic and moody bus drivers

- Packing and unpacking, or more basically live constantly on the move

- Dorms and shared bathroom

- Warrior mosquitos that can even bite you through your cloths

5. Clothing:

- Sweaty and sticky cloths

- My Addas! But don't worry, I bring them back home ;-)



So, for all those reasons, I'd say it's pretty much even. But I am glad to get to see my family and friends again. It will be a nice break before going travelling again. That's why I feel good about it :-)

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article